wishlist

I am pretty compulsive as a person. I have various compulsions I struggle to keep a lid on. One of them is spending. I wanted to share one of the ideas I am using at the moment to help control spending, and that is the wishlist.

If I want to buy something now, I ask myself what I feel must be “the minimalist creed”:

  • Do I need it?
  • Do I love it?

For example, right now I am considering a Bluetooth wireless sound player. A year ago, I’d have bought it and maybe regretted it within a couple of days.

For now I haven’t bought it. It has gone on the wishlist, where it must remain for a while. I need to satisfy myself that:

  • I can’t get one second hand and find value in someone else’s that they no longer find value in.
  • I am not compulsively consuming.
  • I have chosen the right option.

I’ll keep you up to date on how it goes.

 

Leave a Reply

