WL’16: 7. Conclusions

Conclusions

There are some take home messages that I think may be useful to you:

  1. JERF: just eat real food. A simple rule of thumb is that if it comes in a packet, the list of ingredients will be long. The chances of there being good nutritional content is lower.
  2. Diets don’t work. Short term changes will only ever afford short term results. Instead, make gradual, sustainable changes.
  3. The terms “detox” and “superfoods” were not invented by scientists, they were invented by the food industry in an attempt to make more money from you.
  4. I didn’t eliminate any of the food groups: we all need carbohydrates, fats and protein in our diet.
  5. As a way of calorie restricting, I did stop eating “heavy” carbs for dinner. I consider heavy carbs to be things like pasta, potatoes, rice, etc. I did eat steamed vegetables for dinner. I typically ate potatoes or rice at lunch, after training.
  6. I did cut out added sugars completely.
  7. Calorie counting isn’t a lot of fun, but for me it was the key to being confident about eating food. If you are going to do it, I recommend using the myfitnesspal app: you can save foods that you eat often, and you can create recipes and save those as well. It takes a lot of effort at the start to get going, but once you’ve got some foods saved it’s very simple.
  8. Just because we exercise regularly doesn’t give us a license to eat rubbish! In fact, I now think the opposite is true: your body needs good food to recover.
  9. It’s ok to fall off the wagon: I’ve eaten everything I shouldn’t while losing weight. Pick yourself up and get back on. Don’t punish yourself or be too negative.
  10. If you don’t have time to exercise, then simply eat less.
  11. I don’t believe in any one thing getting you anywhere. Drinking green tea will not make you look like a bikini model! Eating this one weird ingredient will not make you look like a body builder. As I’ve said before,  there are no secrets! A lean body takes discipline in consistently exercising and eating well.
  12. It’s ok to feel hungry! Your body stores a lot of energy for the lean times.
  13. Intermittent fasting may or may not work for you: I am a n=1 experiment.
Leave a Reply

