change

Do the best you can until you know better. Then when you know better, do better.

Maya Angelou

When we make changes in our lives and begin to do things differently, we have to be willing to accept that not everyone is going to like the change.

Becoming minimalist is going to make you seem different to others. People around you are going to seem different to you. People may want you to continue to do things the way you have been.

Part of making any change, such as becoming minimalist, is coming to terms with this realisation:

You have changed. Those around you have not.

Your values are different now.

You can’t really go back. You don’t want to go back.

The problem is, the expectation is that we won’t change.

Change often happens slowly, imperceptibly, like tectonic plates slowly shifting apart.

When I became a minimalist, over a period of months, I stopped wanting to fill my house with stuff. I stopped spending time on social media. I sold things I didn’t find value inI stopped spending a lot of time on Facebook. I don’t own a TV anymore as it takes more than it gives.

I started spending time looking for peace, and looking to do things more meaningfully.  Often this means disconnecting from things that are not important to me.

I started becoming more protective of my time and intolerant of those who would try to steal it. I put a lot of value on my time and the time of those around me. I want to respect my time, your time, and would like others to respect my time.

I have become particularly intolerant of people waste their time without a care in the world.

You can waste your own time, on your own time. If you waste mine, you will find me particularly intolerant of your actions.

Initially I thought I was being too harsh. However, I have set a standard and I want to respect those standards. However, I think the new version of me is not willing to accept much compromise on this.

Change is just a shift in our standards. Are you willing to hold yourself to higher standards?

Leave a Reply

