hiatus

It is with sadness that I write to say that I will be taking a break from blogging until July. I just wanted to outline the reasons here:

focus

In the past two weeks I’ve been ill for two days and I have looked after my son who has had chicken pox for a week. It has been a quite difficult time during which I have had a lot of time to think and not enough time to actually do anything.

health

One of the things I have had time to think about is my energy levels and health, and with reduced time I need to focus a little more on eating very cleanly to keep up my energy levels. I haven’t been able to get to the gym or cycle to work in the last two weeks, which usually keep my energy levels high (ironically). When I finish my latest bag of coffee beans I’ll be going on a coffee fast to try and normalize my hormone levels.

priorities

Having spent some time getting my GTD system sorted, it’s clear I have to re-jig some of my priorities, and that means putting health as high as I possibly can, but also I have some work opportunities at the moment that have timers already ticking on them. This three month period until July is a pretty key time for various aspects of my job and I really need to focus on those to have a good rest of the year.

Further to that, my wife and I are focused on getting out of debt this year, so we have many things pulling on our attention and we want to ensure that our efforts are being placed for maximum effect.

future

As I write, I have 46 draft blog posts in the queue. I could rush through some of them and schedule them up and release them without proper editing. But I started this blog to produce quality writing that would stand on its own and stand the test of time. So I want to give each essay the time it requires so that my readers get the maximum value.

Further to that I have various ideas in the works on series I want to work on.

I will be putting out monthly updates on my ZTD process for those that are following on, but they will be brief and to the point. I may put out a list of links that I have found useful this month: for example I discovered the simple dollar this week while googling about how to bring up kids without TV.

By the way, does anyone know of any good personal finance blogs in the UK? All the ones I’ve found so far seem to be based in the US.

rest

We are going to the Isle of Wight at the end of June for a long weekend which should mark the end of this busy period for me, so I am looking forward to coming back refreshed. I will be keeping up with the blogs in my feed, so I look forward to reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

